Imperial Youth Review Issue 1 Contributor Interview: Garrett Cook asks Jess Gulbranson 7 Questions

1.Favorite Soup.

Beef pho. Not to sound like a foodie snob, but there is an alchemy that is being performed in a pho hung.  You know, they’ve got these ever-boiling pots, and exotic bouquet garni of anise and chile, and whole sacks of bones to make the broth, and out front in the restaurant they’re playing entire BillyOcean albums at ¾ speed.  If you can think of a better soup, I’d like to hear it.
2.How does it feel to be one of the beautiful people?

You know, I used to be bishonen and looked like my mom.  We were quite beautiful.  Since my early twenties I’ve been in sort of a doughy transitional phase, but I’m relieved in that I seem to be rounding a corner of maturity and looking like my dad, which is awesome because he looks like Wiliam Holden.

Image
3.Who are you and what do you do?

I never get tired of saying that I am a bricoleur.  That’s just a fancy name for a dabbler, but see… if I didn’t try to stick my fingers into domains where I have no expertise… well, I wouldn’t have accomplished shit.  To be honest, with the things I’ve been through I consider it a miracle that I have accomplished anything.  I’m starting to think that my mission in life is not to record the best music, or write the best novel, or draw the best drawings, or formulate the best philosophy, but to prepare the world for my daughter to do all those things.  Someday she is going to meet me on the road, and kill me.  And I’m fine with that.
4. Can you name three bands that are keeping the standards high for music today?

The Sword, The Knife, and Donald Fagen.

  1. How do you feel about being part of Imperial Youth Review Issue 1? Do you have any favorite pieces?

It is exciting. I’m not sure how to describe IYR- but there is an intensity about the whole thing that is gratifying. I’m keen to know where things are going to go from here, and being involved- it’s got me thinking in some very different directions.

Image

6. What are your current and future projects?

Well, “Antipaladin Blues” is finally coming out this spring, from LegumeMan Books. It’s so long in coming, I don’t even know what to say about that… other than I’m glad I’m in the hands of the mad Melbournians.  At the moment I’m writing a gaming supplement, “Castle on the Edge of the Moon”, which is something I’ve been easing into.  I came up with a card game a while back, but it turned out someone had already released the exact same game, so that was a bummer.  CotEotM will be out in the first half of the year as well. This project will be a great way to get your kids into D&D, and after that heavy metal and Satan.
7. Describe in two hundred words what would happen if the Razorboy came to take your fancy things away. Do so in the form of Chaphop.

ANSWER HERE!

Leave a Reply

